Monochrome Mondays

Eagle Eye

6 Comments

I am in the market to purchase a telephoto lens. I rented a Canon 100-400mm lens last spring, which I loved using, when I went on a birding boat trip with several friends.  This time around I decided to rent a Tamron 150-600mm.  The first thing I realized is the Tamron is way too long and heavy to hand hold, so mounting on a tripod was a must.  I’ve taken it out three times over the weekend and have realized its not for me.  I tried numerous settings and for the life of me could not get tack sharp photos.  Maybe its user error or my camera and the lens were just not syncing up properly, anyway I’m glad I’m only out $100 instead of $1400.  The Canon 100-400mm is looking more appealing all the time.

I decided to play around with one image in mono, still not tack sharp but it will do.

_mg_4989eagletwo_edited-1

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

6 thoughts on “Eagle Eye

  1. I would go for the Canon 100-400mm. More expensive but definitely worth the money in image quality. I love mine.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Carolyn, which lens was used for this photo? There is an awful lot of noise. I am a Nikon shooter so can’t help with Canon but I have a Nikon 200 – 500 lens and it is sharp. You may want to send Jo Chaney an email because I know she purchased a Sigma long lens which she did not like so if you are considering a Sigma you may want to see what she didn’t like about it. Good luck.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was a Tamron 150-600mm. ISO was low I think at 300. Roxana and I tried numerous settings and even tried manual focus and it just would not focus. Pretty frustrating couple of days. I brought it back in to 150 and then moved out with shots and still had the same problem, I thought about trying the Sigma version but, decided I am going to stick with a Canon product. Thanks for your suggestions.

      Like

  3. I have a tamron macro lens 90mm which I use with a Canon. I am not happy with the sharpness either. Think I need to upgrade my camera. Good luck with the decisions. My outlay so far has been minimal!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

