Monochrome Mondays

Waterfall

2 Comments

I’ve had this waterfall image in my files for over 6 years taken during a trip to Teton National Park in Wyoming. The original image was shot when the sun was high over head and early in my digital photography days.  I was still shooting all in auto mode and was unhappy with the final photo.  The water was so blown out and the pool in front looked like a white blob. Yet, I didn’t want to delete it, looking at it reminded of a beautiful day spent hiking with my daughter, son in law and grandkids.  I can still hear the water rushing down the hillside and smell the clean air with a hint of the pine as we hiked on the trail.  No doubt we all have similar images in our files.  I decided to see what would happen if it was converted into a Mono image.  After using a preset Mono filter and manipulating some settings, the image took on a different life highlighting the details of the swirling water, various tones in the boulders and fallen trees.

Jackson Hole/Yellowstone 2012 - 253

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

2 thoughts on “Waterfall

  1. Good editing job. The black & white definitely brings out the textures of the different elements.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

