Monochrome Mondays

Dinner Bell

2 Comments

Dinner bells have been used for centuries to notify family and field hands that dinner is ready.  I grew up with a small bell just outside our back door.  When you heard the bell ringing, even blocks away, my friends and I always took off for home.  Not only was it my dinner time but theirs as well.  This cast iron dinner bell located at our son in laws family ranch in South Dakota, is an iconic part of the ranch, just like the numerous barns, fences and house built with love by his recently deceased grandfather.

_MG_3612

Author: CarolynEliason

I have always enjoyed photography, but with encouragemet from family and friends over the past several years I began to realize I really love it! Belonging to this blog and a local digital photo group has challenged me to look at the beauty of the world and to enjoy capturing it with my camera.

2 thoughts on “Dinner Bell

  1. Is this the bell that was at your family home as a little girl? If so, it’s so nice that it has been passed down to the next generation.

    Like

Leave a Reply

